Skip to content

Resolutions and Goal Setting

01/04/2015

Happy New Year everybody! Something that people I love keep asking me is if I have made any New Year’s Resolutions. I hate that question for two reasons: it’s none of their business if I have, and I feel resolutions on the whole are stupid.

Now, I say they’re stupid because all of the Resolutions I’ve ever heard are completely unrealistic or unattainable. “I want to lose weight!” So go on a crash diet for a week; lose two pounds; realize it’s hard and quit the diet; gain five pounds back. You got your resolution, I guess. It wasn’t what you meant. That’s why I call Resolutions stupid.

Goal-setting, however, is a very logical way of getting a desired result. The first thing you have to do is really define your overarching goal, and then set a time limit for it. “I want to lose weight” is too broad and open to interpretation, but “I want to lose 30 pounds by August” is completely doable. I may even want to put in that caveat in there that I want those 30 pounds to stay off after I’ve lost them so all this effort is not lost in vain. After that, you need to set up intermediary goals that will help you attain your overarching goal. To lose 30 points in seven months, I would have to lose just over a pound a week.

Now that I have my goals set, I need to arrange some tasks and perhaps a few other goals so that I can actually attain those goals (because no matter how awesome it would be, I doubt that my chubby parts will melt away if I only wish for it). Nothing will change unless I change it, and, sadly, that will take effort. So, I will need to reduce the number of calories I eat and start exercising more. To easily count my calories and balance my nutritional goals, for example, I can get the My Fitness Pal app on my phone so I can log what I eat any time any where. I will also join Crunch Fitness Gym because they are inexpensive and if I’m paying to ride a fake bike, I don’t want to pay a lot for it (especially since getting my real bike out of the shed would be so much cheaper). And, no, I don’t get paid to advertise for companies. I’m just a cheapskate.

Basically, I need to make daily calorie goals and weekly gym-going goals if I actually want to drop this weight. If I do this every week, my goal of losing 30 pounds by August is completely doable. I can even keep it up for the whole year, and who knows how much weight I can lose in that time!

The cool thing about goal-setting, though, is that I’m not just restricted to setting goals for myself at New Years! I can set a goal whenever I want: Len;, when I get out of a bad relationship; when I have a deadline for school or work; whenever! As long as you set a realistic goal and have intermediary goals and tasks to help you achieve it, then anything is possible!

Do you have any goals you are trying to achieve this year? I really am going to try and lose 30 LBS by August, and those were my methods of losing that weight. I’ll let you know later in the year how I am doing in achieving those goals!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

